The genre is not my first choice. I am, however, a believer in the power of music. Last night we were treated to a concert at ATT Park, home of the San Francisco Giants. It’s the home of the great American pastime and this house is full of championship trophies. The sporting venue was converted into a vortex of positive energy. It’s hard to imagine, in this day, over 50,000 coming together in one light.

I was surprised by many different facets of the evening. 1. Bonnie Rait opened and joined for a couple songs later. She is 68 years old and one badass chick. She plays guitar better and more technically than most musicians I’ve ever seen. 2. James Taylor brings a huge audience. The park was packed out, on the field and in the stands. His music has permeated the generations. The older crowd thinks that the “kids” just don’t understand but there they were, singing every lyric side by side. 3. James’s music is written around a lifetime of experiences. He tells cute little stories before each tune and you can tell each song means the world to him, except Steam Roller, haha.

Finally, the message and feeling that hung in the night air (to me at least). If everyone in the world was just a little more like James, even a small percentage more, we would be better. We would all be a little better. I know I would be.

“I’ve seen fire and I’ve seen rain.
I’ve seen sunny days that I thought would never end.
I’ve seen lonely times when I could not find a friend,
But I always thought that I’d see you again.” -original JT

