Baby is coming soon. Only a few short weeks away from being new parents. I’m so excited, I can’t even write or think about the words. They don’t do it justice. Someone asked me the other day if I was scared? No. I am anxious for sure but never scared.

Things I’m looking forward to: a new life and new possibilities. Watching, wandering and teaching a tiny person to be an independent strong adult. Getting through the tough times. Look, we get it, there will be nights that we’ll wander if we made a mistake, long nights. Thanks for always pointing that out other parents. I’m not sure why some people can’t just be supportive. It’s like living in AZ and hearing “it’s a dry heat” over and over again by people that don’t live there. “Oh boy, your life’s about to change.” No shit?!?! It’s kind of what we wanted. A dad told me recently, actual usable unsolicited advice, “the days can be long but the years are short…” He said just remember that on those nights that are rough, you’re gonna blink and have a three year old, so the nights really aren’t that bad. The rest of the Pros list is just so long that I don’t want to waste your time…

Things I’m not looking forward to: being judged and having to judge other parents. I know we’ll try to avoid it but eventually will be forced. I’m not looking forward to the first time baby is really sick. I’m also sure we’ll get over that fairly quickly as babies are sick, it’s part of what they do, a pretty important part actually. And that’s about the end of that list. I’m sure it will eb and flow as time rolls on.

I know there has been a lot going on and a lot to write about but I am suffering from over baby consumption. However, The Grant Baby Blog will launch the day after his/her’s birthday and I will give you the web address soon. Have a great Friday everyone!!

