Robin-
People are upset today sir. We grieve. We morn. We are pissed off. Some of us don’t understand, unfortunately I am not one of those. Unfortunately I completely understand. I’ve stood on that ledge before. It’s been a lifetime ago Robin but I can remember. I can remember that hopelessness. I remember the terror of waking up the next day. You get to a point where a mirror represents the end, don’t look into it. Folks that don’t get us will say that your way out is cowardly; I scoff. They say you should have asked for help, even though you did, over and over again. The disease is a game that is played for a lifetime and some win and some…well, some lose. I am so sorry you lost your game. My generation and a few before us, for us you were always around. From Mork to the Genie in the lamp; when you were on screen for some reason the world seemed a better place. “Oh Captain, My Captain” taught us “Carpe Diem” and the soulful Professor taught us and Will Hunting that it wasn’t our fault. Well, I’m here to tell you Mr. Williams that it’s not your fault. Whether up or down, which ever way you are looking right now, you are going to see and hear things of contradiction. Anger begets sadness; sadness turns to remembrance and when we remember, we heal. I don’t remember ever being this low for a non-family member’s death. Perhaps it’s because you were part of our family, always around. And because you were always around, we are left with incredible works of art. I can not wait to teach my kid about John Keating (Dead Poet’s Society) and what he meant to me. So I bid you farewell Captain, rest easy. In your voice:

“We don’t read and write poetry because it’s cute. We read and write poetry because we are members of the human race. And the human race is filled with passion. And medicine, law, business, engineering, these are noble pursuits and necessary to sustain life. But poetry, beauty, romance, love, these are what we stay alive for. To quote from Whitman, “O me! O life!… of the questions of these recurring; of the endless trains of the faithless… of cities filled with the foolish; what good amid these, O me, O life?” Answer. That you are here – that life exists, and identity; that the powerful play goes on and you may contribute a verse. That the powerful play *goes on* and you may contribute a verse. What will your verse be?” -Mr. Robin Williams as John Keating (DPS)

