Tony Gywnn died at the young age of 54 this past weekend. I admired him when I was young as a ball player. He was one of the best hitters to ever grace a field. In his entire career he only had ONE game where he struck out three times…amazing. From what I hear (having never met the man) he was a gentleman of the game. However, he was stricken with cancer and it started in his mouth. Like many ball players before him, he was a chewer. This is a simple post and should be a simple lesson for a lot of you. Stop fucking chewing tobacco. It’s rotting a hole in your head and will kill you. I know the argument, “I’m free to do what I want,” “I’m gonna die anyway,” “live free, die young,” “my Grandpa smoked for 50 years and blah, blah, blah,” frankly I’m sick and tired of seeing people go too early when it’s easily prevented. With Father’s day this last weekend, ask yourself this question, “Do I want my child/children to burry me when I’m 54?” If the answer is No; you know what to do. Time to stop creating excuses.

