Covet thy friendships. Of all the big missteps in my existence this is the one that haunts me the most today. I forgot people. I let people down. I let people go way to easy. I hold on to old grudges. On my ride to work this morning the radio man was telling great stories about the US Open and watching with friends in various places in his life. He said that no matter where everyone ended up in the world they would always try to get together for the US Open, having missed only a couple times for different excusable reasons. The stories were deep and meaningful and you could feel the emotion from the speakers. I think about all my “guy friends” now have these kinds of annual or semiannual groups and events. At this moment in my life I do not. It hurts. I mean, I am very blessed to spend everyday with my best friend. My wife and I have a deep relationship that cannot be measured by simple words. I married into a great family where I am forging great friendships. I love hanging out with certain members of my own family, just lounging and shooting the breeze. I’m even making my own clan, he/she is growing as I type. As for having those “go to” people, a few remain that I can call at the drop of a hat and have an unbelievable conversation with, you know who you are. Thanks for being there but still the question remains. Why am I not that person for someone or anyone?

I don’t want this to come off as a “whoa is me” post. I just want to pass on experience to the younger generation that may read this and can possibly learn. “Covet thy friendships,” and get as much out of them as you can possibly hold. Life happens and even though you make the deal “friends for life,” this may not hold true.

Now, speaking of US Open…

