A lot of you waking up this morning and seeing Martin Kaymer leading the US Open by 7 strokes are surprised. I am not. A couple seasons ago I spent some time back in Arizona and got to play Whisper Rock. WR is a private club in North Scottsdale and is home to many touring professionals. When you go play there, it is an all day affair. We showed up early and had breakfast before hitting the practice tee to warm up. The round was great and it was a pleasure playing.

  When we tee’d off, Martin Kaymer was on the practice tee. When we made the turn, Martin Kaymer was on the practice tee. When we got done, Martin Kaymer was on the practice tee. When we finished our lunch and went to the parking lot, Martin Kaymer was on the practice tee. I remember asking my caddy if this was normal and he said, “everyday.” There is a misconception by the general public that professional golfers don’t work hard. The best in the world work harder than most. If Martin wins this major, it will be because of all that work, pretty awe inspiring.

  On another note: I have a customer in the field. Maverick McNealy is a sophomore at Stanford University. He is an impressive young man that has worked his tail off to get this far. He shot 4 over par yesterday and I am definitely cheering for him to grind and make the cut today. Mav is a great young player but he is an even nicer young man. What an experience at such a young age! 

  I love the US Open. Have I said that? 

 

