We are fat. I’m talking about our entire country. We’re not the only fat country in the world but since I live here I find it only prudent to write about us. In one of my classes we’ve been studying the epidemic of childhood obesity. It is a very unsettling topic, one that seems to swept under the rug by most people, probably because most people have fat kids. There’s one stat that tells the entire story: 1 in 3 kids born today will be diagnosed with type-2 diabetes by the age of 6! Type-2 diabetes used to be reffered to as “early onset ADULT diabetes,” as in kids didn’t get it. There are many cultural phenomena playing into this spreading disease; sugary drinks, fast food, video games, lack of exercise and physical education disappearing from the grammar school curriculum are just a few. The only redeeming thing about this, is that it is not too late. Kids are resilient. So if you have a fat kid, take him to your doctor and get it figured out. The quality of their adult lives count on it! If I sound harsh in this it’s because it seems to be a topic that people get all sensitive about and I’m trying to be harsh. I love when parents are like ,”Don’t tell me how to take care of my kids.” My answer is, “then do a better job!” You should be sensitive to the word fat. It’s not a nice word because it’s not a nice thing. I hear a lot of people talk about the fact that they are against the “hollywood” factor, meaning that we are idolizing actors for their slim builds. That doesn’t make it ok to just let yourselves go and be large. The fact of the matter is that when you are overweight you will be more susceptible to heart disease, some cancers and your quality of life with just suffer. I’m not saying you must have six-pack abs or wear a size zero. I’m just saying start taking a little bit of care for yourselves America. It starts with your kids.

If I sound angry, it’s because I am. I’m not but I feel fat right now. Time to act.

