I signed up for this little event next week. It’s 18 holes of tournament golf. I have played three events this year. The first was the Parker Open in which I did not fair well, missing the cut. The second being a little one day mini tour event, did not cash. The third was the US Open local qualifier, in which I shot the biggest score I have ever posted in my competitive career. As a matter of fact, I look back and can’t remember the last time I played well in an event, maybe 10 years. The previous Parker Open, 2011, I missed the cut by one stroke. I played OK but not good. Doubt is trying to take hold. My dream may have set sail into a blue sky that is far away.

That being said, I will put everything I have into this coming event. It could lead to the next. I keep trying, not knowing why. Perhaps it’s because I want my time in the sunshine. I lived one failure after the next. I’ve been bucked from so many proverbial bulls, I can hardly stand. It gets harder to get up after every fall. Some how I continue though, I will see this through, never giving in to the sadness a failed attempt creates. I will fight doubt and will not fall again!

“Whatever course you decide upon, there is always someone to tell you that you are wrong. There are always difficulties arising which tempt you to believe that your critics are right. To map out a course of action and follow it to an end requires courage.”

~Ralph Waldo Emerson~

“Never give up on something that you can’t go a day without thinking about.”

~Winston Churchill~

I never skip a day.

