With the recent shooting in Colorado the debate rages on about our country’s gun laws. The “conservative” stands tall and quotes the right to bear arms! It wasn’t the guns fault, “it’s people that kill people.” Don’t take away our guns and infringe on our liberties as Americans. The “liberals” say that if we had better gun laws and they were actually enforced things like this would never happen. People should not be able to purchase assault style weapontry.

Who’s right in this instance? A lot of you think the answer is very simple and it’s not. When the Constitution and Bill of Rights were written, the preferred weapon of choice was a mussel loaded black powder rifle, a very distant cousin from today’s firearm. I’m not saying that we should ban all guns but there are some out there that are too dangerous in people’s hands with no training. I’m definitely not saying that we should take away hunting rifles and I would like to say to my “conservative” friends that’s not what we want to do.

In 2011, there were 103 reported homicides with firearms in Oakland California. A lot of those were committed with automatic guns. I realize there is a certain criminal element at work here but it seems a bigger issue when that element enter’s the middle of the country. It is tragic that these shootings happen, terrible. The answer is not “simple,” that’s why action is slow. I don’t know what that action should be.

When tragedy strikes on any level, it makes me appreciate what I have even more. It makes me want to work harder to make my dream come true. Live every day because you really don’t know, just look at the young people gunned down in Colorado. Live now.

 

