One of my favorite weeks of the year, on Thursday I will set my alarm early, get the coffee brewin,  and try to get up to watch early round coverage of the “Open” Championship (the British Open to the civilian). I love the different style golf shots the best in the world will have to use to navigate the rough terrain. I hear a lot of guys say that it’s “the way the game should be played.” When I hear that I always think, “that person has never played tough links conditions, not really all that fun.” It’s the way the game was born and I’m glad that it’s still celebrated once a year in grand style. It always has a great storyline, Whether it be Tom Watson almost winning a couple years ago (a true immortal), or Darren Clark with his emotional break through last year, the tournament will surely always produce a fantastic finish. I appreciate the coverage, they seem to show more golf shots during the event than on the PGA Tour (that goes for the European Tour as well). The fans are polite, applauding effort and results with the same vigour. As I watch this year’s Open, I will be cheering an American to come home with the Claret Jug, as it is a Ryder Cup year (my third favorite golf event). To bed early I go on Wednesday night, like a kid on Christmas Eve.

