Ted Potter Jr. and Me, what do we have in common, and what does he have in common with you?

I was fortunate to meet the guy and watch him play golf for two days at the 2012 Phoenix Open. Ted is a journeyman tour pro who has been around for a few years, this being his first on the PGA Tour. He spent the first couple on the Web.com tour, formally the Nationwide Tour. In his first season he missed 24 of 24 cuts. Ouch. The next season he played he only made a hand full of cuts, not much better. He does not understand the word quit though and this is the moment when hundreds of guys hang it up every year, good enough but missing something to get to that next level. In the 2011 season on that tour he ended up being second on the money list and advancing to the PGA Tour. He opened his 2012 season in Hawaii at the Sony Open, playing very well, finishing in the Top 10. Phoenix was his 4th start of the year and that was the event I caddyed for my friend Jon in. I watched intently as TP hit the ball all over the golf course and was 4 over par through 5 holes. Staying patient with himself and hitting some remarkable recovery shots he ended the first 36 holes, 3 under par, an incredible grind and never waiving determination. I remember thinking that this guy will stay out here for a while and possibly win this year. He looks and acts like he does not want to go back or even look back at his past failings, just learn and move on. In only his 16th start on the PGA Tour, he is a winner. He is the 2012 Greenbrier Champion, he gets 2 years exemption on tour, gets to play in the Open Championship this year and gets to play at the Masters in February, not bad for a guy that missed 24 cuts in 2007. Persevere.

I’m in pain. I hurt my shoulder about a year ago in the gym and have been pacifying it ever since. I woke up the other day and the joint emanated pain down through my arm into my elbow and then on my drive to work I could hardly turn my neck. I’m starting down a path tomorrow morning that I don’t know the outcome to, that scares me a bit. I’ve never been a fan of Doctors in the first place. I know enough to get multiple opinions if the first guy is quick to suggest going under the blade. We’ll see what happens. If Ted Potter Jr. can win on the biggest stage in the golf world, I can beat a little shoulder issue…to be continued…

