In my constant search for inspiration I sometimes forget to just look around me. As we go through life we are touched by so many people and I’ve been lucky enough to meet and befriend some amazing folks.

I’m reminded this today as I watch a video posted on Facebook by a good friend, Tyler Matock. He’s a young man in Phoenix AZ that has overcome some adversity in his life and is truly living his dream. He’s plays (modern) folk music in a two piece band, not conforming to “pop culture” rules or stigmas. He plays the music he loves, I respect that.

A couple years ago Tyler was nearly beaten to death in a bar brawl. Now, I’m not sure but I think that he took from that to live your life to the fullest because you truly never know when it’s your time to check out. He picked up a guitar and started playing, realizing what his “American Dream” is, to play music and make people happy with it. Of course I’m assuming a lot of this without actually talking or interviewing my friend but I assume he’s using the motto, “do what you love and fuck the rest…” -one of my favorite movie lines.

I’m proud of my friend Tyler. Keep doing it kid.

