DAY 50:

I had a great time at work today. I realized some things. I am good at my job and am becoming a hell of a salesman. Also, I am lucky to have a job with a “cool” company. It’s been a long time since I’ve been able to say, “I like my job and don’t mind going to work.”

So anyways, while I was in the gym tonight, I started thinking about how I’m re-inventing myself. I’ve gone through quite a few changes in my life, some good, some not so much, but none of them have been permanent. Just temporary patchwork have been faked as change. I have dramatic life goals and dreams and for them to manifest it is going to take some huge change, so far, so good. I’ve taken my physical and emotional life to new limits. I realized that I’m going to have to make some big changes in diet. I work really hard and my current diet is not cutting it. I’m running low on energy way to quickly during the day. I’ve made some big changes to the way I get around the golf course. Planning a route, coming up with a creative game plan to get around the track in as least strokes as possible. Then sticking to that plan when difficult obstacles get in your path. Stand up to adversity and don’t mentally weaken. Another example of life reflecting the game we play. I practice with purpose now, every session. I’ve learned to balance my emotions so I can enjoy the game while competing with myself and the course. I’m more happy than I’ve ever been.

The mission of this blog is ever-changing. It began as a way for me to stay on track and continues that purpose. Some time in May I will be putting forth my annual bid at qualifying for the US Open. The odds are long, but 3 good rounds with the flat-stick(aka, putter) and miracles do happen.  It truly is the greatest tournament on earth and I will play in it one day. Why not 2012? Several coincidences are leading me to it, it’s in my backyard after all. Olympic Club, the emerald-green beast waits for knight to slay it. Along this path, I’ve noticed this blog having some side effects and taking on other purposes. First of all, I’m getting more and more readers everyday, I appreciate your support, even if it is just curiosity. I think that a lot of people have been through similar events in their lives as me and don’t know how to deal with them. That’s why I’ll spontaneously write a story from past experiences and how I got through it. When I was down, I felt alone. I would have loved to read about someone who has been to the pit of hell and survived, gives hope. I know I’m not alone. I also think that there is a strong contingent of people out there that love a good “long odds” story. We’ll see if I can make that happen for ya.  And there will always be those who want failure and root for damage. I love you the most, feeds my fire. One of the other crazy lessons I’ve learned is perception of me. Especially growing up, the way people looked at me and the way I thought of myself are in stark contrast. I continue to learn and very much appreciate the feedback. Thank you. I guess I somehow inspire others as well. I’ve gotten comments that have lead me to believe this. Most of my motivation comes from within but on down days and hard times I think of you guys and am back on track, you know who you are. 50 days of this doesn’t seem very long, so I trudge on. As my beautiful girlfriend, Stephanie, says and should have trademarked,”LET’S DO THIS!!”

 

