DAY 48:

I run two to three times a week. I’ve kind of developed a routine on my run. About 50 meters from my front door is a bench. I stop at that bench, catch my breath and let my mind go. I open up to all possibilities, to whatever wants to come in, past , future or present.  Then right when the day-dream starts to materialize in my mind and is so vibrant I could reach and touch. I hit the bench with step-ups. Leading with the left leg until fire creeps up my legs, stop, then lead with my right leg until my heart beats as if to say, “enough!!” Snap back into the present but let the dream linger…

Tonight’s thought and I think this one quite a bit: “I wish the 18-year-old me had my 35-year-old work ethic.” That’s the polite version. I understand I’m not the only guy in the world that thinks, “what if..” If I would have just worked a little harder, I could have, I should have. Oh well, let it go and do it now!! 35 is not old.

Two winter’s ago I went to Arizona Rattlers open try-outs. The arena football league is probably the only professional sport that has open try-outs. About 100 guys showed up, all shapes, sizes and ages. Out of all these guys there were two quarterbacks. Myself and some kid from BYU would handle the throwing for the day. I only put in about two weeks of light throwing before this, that would prove to be a mistake later that night and the next day (ouch.) We had two lines of receivers and about 25 or 30 guys trying out for receiver. I threw over 100 balls that day and probably only missed 5 or so targets. About mid-way through the routes, I dropped back and let one go late, I heard,”gotta get that one out sooner son.” I turned around and it was Danny White, he was a quarterback in the NFL for the Dallas Cowboys and President and owner of the Rattlers. I dropped back and got the next one out quick, “that’s better…” At the end of the try out I shook the head coaches hand and he told me they are pretty set at the position but that I did myself proud. I was 33 and I kept up with some good college players, nice. It’s fun to take a chance and try something you’re not sure to can accomplish. Sometimes you get a great story, I got coaching from Danny White, awesome.

Now I embark on the next challenge…

